LINKS

University of Illinois

Japan House  japanhouse.art.illinois.edu

Krannert Art Museum and Kinkead Pavilion  kam.illinois.edu

Krannert Center for the Performing Arts  krannertcenter.com

Musicology Division, UI School of Music  illinoismusicology.wordpress.com/

Spurlock Museum  spurlock.illinois.edu

UI Department of Dance  dance.illinois.edu
 


Urbana-Champaign Area

Capoeira Angola Center of Mestre Joao Grande - Champaign IL Study Group (Brazilian martial art) angolacenterillinois.com

Chad Dunn (percussionist, instrument maker)  

CU Folk & Roots Festival  folkandroots.org

CU-Tango (guide to tango in East Central Illinois) cu-tango.com

C-U West African Drum & Dance Collective cuwaddc.weebly.com/

DoCha (chamber music festival) docha.org

Subhalakshmi Kumar (Bharata Natyam Dance)  facebook page

Rocky Maffit (percussionist, Day of the Drum Curator) rockymaffit.com

Piper's Hut Concerts (traditional, acoustic Celtic music)  pipers-hut.com

SPICMACAY Illinois (Indian Performing Arts) facebook page

Tango Society of Central Illinois (Argentine Tango Dance) centraltango.com

Urbana Country Dancers (Contra Dancing) urbana-contra.org

WEFT 90.1 FM (community radio with world music programming)  weft.org

Yang Ying (erhu player)  yangying-music.com

 

Previously Active Area Groups

Adzido Drum Club (Ewe and Dagomba Music from Ghana)
(currently inactive)

Big Grove Zydeco (Cajun band)  www.myspace.com/biggrove
(occasional reunions)

Mhondoro (popular music from Zimbabwe and Guinea) www.myspace.com/mhondororhythm
(currently inactive)

Tree Thump Didjeridu Company (Instrument makers & band)
(currently inactive)

Hamsini (Bharata Natyam Dance) http://hamsini.yolasite.com
(now based and teaching in Upton, MA)

Rhythm and Raag (Indian performing arts)
(now based in Oak Park, IL)

 


Midwest Links

Bloomington Center for the Performing Arts (Bloomington, IL) artsblooming.org

Doudna Fine Arts Center (Charleston, IL)  www.eiu.edu/doudna

HotHouse (Chicago, IL) hothouse.net

Ho Etsu Taiko (Chicago, IL) hoetsu.com

JASC Tsukasa Taiko (Chicago, IL)  taikolegacy.com

Lotus World Music & Arts Festival (Bloomington, IN)  lotusfest.or

Northern Illinois Bluegrass Association (West Dundee, IL)  nibaweb.org

Old Town School of Folk Music (Chicago, IL)  oldtownschool.org

Sangamon Auditorium (Springfield, IL)  www.uis.edu/sangamonauditorium

Sound Culture Center for Global Arts (Chicago, IL)  http://soundculturechicago.com/

 


National Links

Center for World Music and Related Arts (San Diego, CA) centerforworldmusic.org

Moussa Bolokada Conde (Malinke djembe from Guinea) bolokadaconde.blogspot.com

Dagomba Dance Drumming (website on drumming from Northern Ghana)

Gamelan Sekar Jaya (Oakland, CA)  gsj.org

Society for Asian Music  asianmusic.skidmore.edu

The Society for Ethnomusicology  ethnomusicology.org

World Music Institute (New York, NY)  worldmusicinstitute.org